Questions and Answers

Bookfactory software on Mac does not work
Update of the Bookfactory software to version 2.4

Please follow these steps for the update:

1. Open the Bookfactory software on your Mac
2. You receive a message that an update is available
3. Confirm the message.
4. The update will be installed automatically and the software will be restarted - done!

All saved photo books and photo products will of course be retained.

Note: If the update does not work from within the software, manually download version 2.4 of the software from www.bookfactory.ch/downloads and reinstall it. All photo books and photo projects will also be retained.


Customizing the System Settings

Due to the new security features on Mac OS X, the Bookfactory software needs access to the so-called "operating aids" so that you can continue to use all the functions of the software.

We will also show you how to access your images within the Apple "Photos App".

Please follow these steps:

  1. Open the "System Preferences" window.
  2. Click on the "Security" icon.
  3. Click on the menu item "Help".
    (activate the Bookfactory software there)
  4. Click on the menu item "Photos".
    (activate the Bookfactory software there)

Note: If the message appears repeatedly within the Bookfactory software, deactivate it in the system settings and activate the Bookfactory software again.


Important information for Bookfactory Mac-Users

At the end of September, Apple will introduce a new software testing procedure that will not only affect the upcoming Mac OS Catalina, but may also affect older OS versions.

In order for the Bookfactory software to continue to work on your Mac, please make these two adjustments immediately:

  1. Update of the Bookfactory software to version 2.4
  2. Adjusting the System Preferences

Read more in the following two sections.


Bookfactory Software
The software hangs at the start

In certain cases, the software may hang on program start or may only work very slowly. This may occur when using older, less powerful computers. In such cases, you should close all running programs if possible and rerun the software.

Tip: In order to run Bookfactory Software your computer should have at least 512 MB RAM.


Software update function

To keep your software up to date, you should regularly update it on the internet. In order to do this, you must have access to internet. As soon as you click on the button, Bookfactory Software connects to the Bookfactory server and searches for the most recent version. If an update is available, it will be downloaded onto your computer and the software will then be automatically updated.

Tip: Depending on the type of update process, you may have to close Bookfactory Software and restart the program. Therefore, you should always update at program start, and thus avoid interruptions later on while working.


Supported operating systems

To ensure that the Bookfactory ordering software works without any problems, we recommend using the following operating systems:

  • Apple OS X 10.10 or later
  • Windows 7 or later

If you have an older operating system installed on your PC or Mac, it may be worth upgrading to a newer one. An up-to-date operating system provides your device with state-of-the-art security and functionality.

Help with upgrading your Mac operating system can be found on the following Apple site:

http://www.apple.com/uk/osx/how-to-upgrade/#hardware-requirements

Find out about the latest version of Windows:

http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/downloads


Storing data files for future orders

We archive your data for eight weeks from receiving your order. During this time, you can easily re-order using your customer account or by phoning or e-mailing our service team.


Orders over 100 copies

If you order more than 100 copies, we can offer you a discount. Please ask our customer service for information about prices when ordering more than 100 copies.


Designer 2.0

Projects which have been created with Designer 2.0 or Design Center 6.5 can't be ordered anymore. If you have questions please contact our customer service


Ordering options

For security reasons, it is no longer possible to send us orders via CD as of the release of software update 2.0.1 in April 2016. You can transfer your photo projects online - a quick and secure way of placing your order. If you have any questions, please contact our customer service


Layout
Which design templates are available?

We will provide you with a large selection of design templates with various background motifs and stickers to help design our photographic products. From classically elegant to youthfully playful, there is something for everyone.


Number of pictures per photo book

There is no limit to the number of pictures you can use when creating your Bookfactory project. You can use as many pictures as you like, or have available. Bear in mind though that if you place various pictures on the same page, they may look too small. The photo book’s whole image will be spoiled if you use too many pictures.


What resolution should my pictures have?

An average good camera today has a resolution of between six and sixteen mega pixels. This value describes the number of picture points which a photograph is divided into. If you take a photo with a four mega pixel camera it will have 4,000,000 pixels. To print a photo that covers the whole of a page in a book, a three mega pixel camera is usually sufficient. A camera with a resolution of at least five pixels is advisable for photos that cover a double page. If the resolution of a photo is too low for a particular place holder we will indicate this with a red bar. Empty picture boxes will be accompanied by information on which resolution is recommended to achieve optimal print results. Scanned pictures should have a resolution of at least 300 dpi although 600 dpi is recommended for best results.


Customer complaints
Complaints and defects

If you are not satisfied with your order please get in contact with our service team. We will explain how to receive your replacement order as soon as possible. At no extra cost. Your complaint should be made within 10 days after the delivery. If you want to return the product to us, please send it by standard post to the following address: Bookfactory Customer Service Isenrietstrasse 21 CH-8617 Mönchaltorf Phone: +41 44 949 44 99 Workdays 08.30 to 12.00 and 14.00 to 17.00 Contact form Please pay the postal charges before returning your order. We cannot accept packages with postage payable. Naturally, we will reimburse your postal charges. Attach the corresponding receipt to your order when you return it. If you choose to return your product by faster delivery methods (e.g.express post) however, we will only be able to reimburse the cost of delivery by standard post. Procedure for postal damage: If your photo product has been damaged during transport (damaged packaging), please report this so-called transport damage within 8 workdays to the Swiss post office. Report transport damage.


Delivery times
Order preparation and delivery Delays in delivery

Occasionally, while preparing your order, damage occurs. Even tiny defects such as scratches, fine cracks or a crease in the paper can mean that we have to restart the whole production process. Our high standards of quality at the Bookfactory mean we would never deliver a defective article. You would expect no less from us. We understand that if the order has been delayed, for whatever the reason, this may be frustrating for you. Please be patient.


Delivery deadline

Find out about the current production and delivery deadlines by visiting our website before making your order. In the Bookfactory Software order wizard you may also select the option «express delivery». Please note however that this option only refers to delivery times and not to production times.


Online editor
I have questions about the Online Editor

We will quickly set up this area. If you have a current question, please contact our customer service on +41 44 949 44 99.


Payment
How can I redeem a voucher?

If you have been given a Bookfactory voucher, you can enter the voucher code in the shopping cart. Vouchers and discounts cannot be combined and are valid until the specified date.


Split invoice

If you as the customer also wish to specify multiple invoice recipients (split invoice), please contact our customer service team at service@bookfactory.ch before you place your order. A surcharge of CHF 10.00 will be added to your invoice for each separate billing address.


How can I pay?

You can pay for all our products by invoice, paypal or credit card.


PDF-to-Book
I have questions about PDF-to-Book

Please use the FAQ of PDF-to-Book


Print and Paper
What paper should I use for my photobook?

Different people generally have different perceptions of the same type of paper. It is therefore difficult to explain what makes each type unique. These are the key features: Magno Satin: smooth surface, semi-gloss X-Per: semi-smooth surface, matt E-Photo Lustre: surface similar to photo paper, slightly glossy Photo paper: glossy or matt Munken Kristall Smooth: smooth surface, brilliant white Munken Polar Smooth: smooth surface, bright white Order a free paper or fabric sample set to try out the various types: Order your sample set.


What are the printing methods used at the Bookfactory?

Your photo book is printed using the digital printing method. This means that costs can be kept down even if only one print copy is ordered. Electro-photographic digital printing processes that are based on liquid colours yield better print results. When compared to conventional toner-based printing processes, images with higher contrast and saturation are obtained and the colours of your photos will be more brilliant. Secondary or tertiary colours are also more stable when liquid colours are used as opposed to toners.


Security
How to safely download

Downloading Bookfactory Software is as safe as possible. During the installation process no hidden programs will be installed. Of course you can remove the software from your computer at any time.


Backup

No computer system in the world is free from the risk of system crash or hard disk problems. Therefore, you should regularly back up your files. This applies to all the files on your hard disk, not just your photo book project files! Tip: Just copy your Bookfactory project file onto a so-called backup device or burn the data onto a writeable CD or DVD. Whichever backup system you decide to use, the backup device must of course be connected to your computer and properly set up.


Shipment
Prices and delivery charges

For your convenience, the current prices for each product are listed under the corresponding product category. Information on delivery charges is updated constantly on our webpage. Formats & prices Tip: Please keep your software up to date by using the free update function in Bookfactory Software every time you start up. Then you will also be kept informed about our conditions.


Special delivery and mailing lists

Both our offerings and our delivery costs apply to purchase orders with a single mailing address per order. Please note that individual mailing lists/order splits that the customer has nor processed through the automatic ordering method process (from the second address onwards) incur the following charges. Split delivery (Products delivered to multiple recipient addresses): For every additional mailing address (supplied via Word or Excel lists), the delivery costs of the respective product category (e.g. a booklet CHF 4.90 or a photobook CHF 6.90) will be charged to you. Furthermore, a flat-rate handling fee of CHF 50.00 is payable for every special delivery order (maximum 20 addresses). If there are more than 20 individual addresses, the flat-rate shipping fee will be calculated based on a separate quotation. For example: An order of ten booklets to be sent to six different addresses Delivery and shipping costs: 6 x CHF 4.90 = CHF 29.40 Handling fee = CHF 50.00 Total cost of special delivery = CHF 79.40 excluding VAT. (This amount will be invoiced to the customer in addition to the product costs) Split invoice (Invoices sent to multiple recipient addresses): If you as the customer also wish to specify multiple invoice recipients (split invoice), please contact our customer service team at service@bookfactory.ch before you place your order. A surcharge of CHF 10.00 will be added to your invoice for each separate billing address. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact our customer service team at service@bookfactory.ch.


What are the delivery costs for orders from outside Switzerland?

Orders we only deliver to adresses in Switzerland and Liechtenstein

Questions-Réponses

Le logiciel Bookfactory sur Mac ne fonctionne pas
Mise à jour du logiciel Bookfactory à la version 2.4

Veuillez suivre ces étapes pour la mise à jour:

1. ouvrez le logiciel Bookfactory sur votre Mac
2. vous recevez un message indiquant qu'une mise à jour est disponible
3. Confirmez le message.
4. La mise à jour sera installée automatiquement et le logiciel sera redémarré - c'est fait !

Tous les livres photos et produits photos enregistrés seront bien entendu conservés.

Remarque : Si la mise à jour ne fonctionne pas à partir du logiciel, téléchargez manuellement la version 2.4 du logiciel sur www.bookfactory.ch/downloads et réinstallez-la. Tous les livres et projets photographiques seront également conservés.


Personnalisation des paramètres du système

En raison des nouvelles fonctions de sécurité de Mac OS X, le logiciel Bookfactory a besoin d'accéder aux "aides au fonctionnement" pour que vous puissiez continuer à utiliser toutes les fonctions du logiciel.

Nous vous montrerons également comment accéder à vos images dans l'application "Photos" d'Apple.

Veuillez suivre ces étapes:

  1. Ouvrez la fenêtre "Préférences système".
  2. Cliquez sur l'icône "Sécurité".
  3. Cliquez sur le point de menu "Aide".
    (y activer le logiciel Bookfactory)
  4. Cliquez sur le point de menu "Photos".
    (y activer le logiciel Bookfactory)

Remarque: Si le message apparaît plusieurs fois dans le logiciel Bookfactory, désactivez-le dans les réglages du système et activez à nouveau le logiciel Bookfactory.


Informations importantes pour les Bookfactory Mac-utilisateurs

Fin septembre, Apple introduira une nouvelle procédure de test des logiciels qui n'affectera pas seulement le prochain Mac OS Catalina, mais aussi les anciennes versions d'OS.

Pour que le logiciel Bookfactory puisse continuer à fonctionner sur votre Mac, veuillez effectuer ces deux réglages immédiatement:

  1. Mise à jour du logiciel Bookfactory à la version 2.4
  2. Réglage des préférences système

Pour en savoir plus, consultez les deux sections suivantes.


Bookfactory Software
Le logiciel se fige au lancement

Il est possible, dans certains cas exceptionnels, que le logiciel se «fige» lors du démarrage ou ne démarre que très lentement. Cela ne se produit en général que sur les vieux ordinateurs peu performants. Il vous faut alors fermer si possible tous les programmes ouverts et relancer le logiciel.

Remarque: vous devez avoir au moins 512 MB de mémoire vive disponible pour utiliser Bookfactory logiciel.


Update du logiciel

Pour que votre logiciel soit toujours dans la configuration la plus récente, vous devez régulièrement recherche une mise à jour sur Internet.

Vous devez pour cela disposer impérativement d’un accès Internet. Dès que vous cliquez sur le bouton, Bookfactory logiciel établit une connexion avec le serveur Bookfactory sur Internet et cherche une nouvelle version. Si une mise à jour est disponible pour votre logiciel, celle ci est chargée sur votre ordinateur et automatiquement installée ensuite.


Systèmes d'exploitation pris en charge

Nous vous recommandons les systèmes d'exploitation suivants afin d'assurer un fonctionnement optimal du logiciel:

- Apple OSX 10.10 et versions ultérieures

- Windows 7 et versions ultérieures

Une mise à jour de votre système d'exploitation peut s'avérer utile. En effet, une version récente assure un fonctionnement optimal et sûr de votre ordinateur.

La page d'Apple suivante vous aidera à mettre votre système d'exploitation à niveau:

http://www.apple.com/chfr/osx/how-to-upgrade/#hardware-requirements

Renseignez-vous sur la version la plus récente de Windows:

http://windows.microsoft.com/fr-fr/windows/downloads


Archivage pour des commandes supplémentaires

Les données sont archivées chez nous pendant huit semaines suivant la réception de votre commande. Pendant cette période, vous pouvez renouveler votre commande via votre compte client.


Commande supérieures à 100 exemplaires

Nous pouvons également vous faire une offre personnalisée pour les commandes importantes de plus de 100 exemplaires. Veuillez vous enquérir du prix auprès de notre service clientèle avant de passer commande de plus de 100 exemplaires.


Designer 2.0

Vous ne pouvez plus commander les projets créés avec Designer 2.0 ou Design Center 6.5 depuis le 30. juin 2015. Si vous avez des questions, contactez notre service clientèle.


Possibilités de commande

Pour des raisons de sécurité, la commande de CD n'est plus disponible depuis la mise à jour logicielle 2.0.1 d'avril 2016. Commandez vos projets photo en ligne, il s'agit d'une option plus rapide et plus sûre! Pour toute question, adressez-vous à notre service clientèle


Réalisation
Quels modèles de réalisation

Pour la réalisation de nos produits photo, nous mettons à disposition un grand choix de modèles de réalisation avec différents motifs d’arrière-plan et des autocollants. De classique à frivole, tout est proposé.


Nombre de photos par produit

Le nombre de photos que vous pouvez insérer dans un projet Bookfactory logiciel n’est pas limité. Vous pouvez utiliser autant de photos que vous le souhaitez ou dont vous disposez. Veillez seulement, lorsque vous placez plusieurs photos sur une page, à ce qu’elles ne soient pas trop petites. Une surcharge de photos a des répercussions négatives sur l’aspect général de l’album.


Quelle doit être la résolution de mes photos ?

La résolution d’un bon appareil photo de qualité moyenne est actuellement comprise entre six et seize mégapixels. Cette valeur correspond au nombre de points dont est composée une photo. Une photo prise avec un appareil photo de quatre mégapixels est par exemple composée de 4.000.000 points. Un appareil photo de trois mégapixels suffit en général pour imprimer une photo en pleine surface sur une page d’album. Les photos destinées à une double page pleine doivent par contre êtres prises avec cinq mégapixels au moins. Si la résolution de la photo est trop faible pour un espace réservé, le logiciel vous l’indique par un cadre rouge. Lorsqu’une zone image est sélectionnée, des informations telles que la résolution d’impression ou la taille de l’image s’affichent dans la barre rouge située sous la zone de travail. Vous obtenez également pour les zones vides des informations sur la résolution que doit avoir une image pour garantir une impression optimale. Les images scannées doivent avoir été scannées en 300 dpi, voire de préférence en 600 dpi.


Réclamation
Réclamation et dommages

Si vous n’étiez pas satisfait du produit livré, adressez une réclamation au service clientèle. Nous vous indiquerons comment obtenir un produit de remplacement le plus rapidement possible. Bien évidemment sans vous facturer de frais supplémentaires. Pour toute réclamation merci d’envoyer votre article par colis standard à: Bookfactory Service clientèle Isenrietstrasse 21 CH-8617 Mönchaltorf Telefon: +41 44 949 44 99 Jours ouvrés de 8h30 à 12h00 et de 14h00 à 17h00 Formulaire de contact Merci de payer dans tous les cas l’affranchissement. Nous ne pouvons réceptionner les colis envoyés sans affranchissement. Les frais de port vous seront naturellement remboursés. Merci de joindre le justificatif correspondant lors de l’envoi. Si vous choisissez un autre type d’expédition (p. ex. exprès), nous ne pourrons vous rembourser que les frais correspondants à un acheminement normal. Procédure pour les dommages postaux: Si votre produit photo a été endommagé durant le transport (emballage endommagé), nous vous prions de signaler ce dommage de transport auprès de la Poste Suisse dans les huit jours qui suivent la distribution de l'envoi. Procédure de la Poste Suisse.


Temps de livraison
La livraison a du retard

Il arrive dans certains cas isolés qu’un incident survienne lors de la production. Même de petits dommages comme des égratignures, de fines déchirures ou une pliure du papier nécessitent de relancer la production de l’article complet. Nous ne pouvons bien entendu pas vous livrer un produit endommagé en raison des normes de qualité élevées de Bookfactory. Vous n’en attendez assurément pas moins de nous. Il est plus que compréhensible qu’une durée de production prolongée, quelle qu’en soit la cause, vous agace. Nous vous remercions de votre compréhension si cela devait se produire.


Date de livraison

Veuillez vous informer sur notre site Internet des délais de production et/ou de livraison actuels avant d’envoyer votre commande. Vous trouverez dans l’assistant de commande de Bookfactory logiciel l’option «Envoi express» que vous pouvez en outre sélectionner. Veuillez noter que cette option ne s’applique qu’à l’envoi - et non pas à la durée de production.


L'éditeur en ligne
J'ai des questions sur l'éditeur en ligne

Nous allons rapidement construire cette zone. Si vous avez une question d'actualité, veuillez contacter notre service clientèle au +41 44 949 44 99.


Paiement
Comment utiliser un bon d'achat?

Si vous avez obtenu un bon d'achat Bookfactory, vous pouvez entrer le code du bon d'achat dans votre panier. Les bons d'achat ou réductions ne sont pas cumulables et sont valables jusqu'à la date indiquée.


Facturation fractionnée

Si le client souhaite en outre que des factures soient envoyées à différents destinataires (facturation fractionnée), il doit se renseigner auprès de notre service clientèle avant le processus de commande, à l’adresse service@bookfactory.ch. Pour chaque adresse de facturation distincte, un supplément de CHF 10.– est facturé.


Comment puis-je payer

Chez nous, tous les produits peuvent se payer sur facture, par paypal et par carte de crédit.


PDF-to-Book
J'ai des questions sur PDF-to-Book

Veuillez utiliser la FAQ de PDF-to-Book


Impression et papier
Sur quel type de papier devrais-je faire imprimer mon album photo?

Chacun réagit différemment à un type de papier. Il est donc important d'en connaître les différents types. Voici leurs principales caractéristiques: Magno Satin: surface lisse, légère brillante X-Per: surface légère, pas brillante E-Photo Lustre: surface identique au papier photo, légère brillante Papier photo: brillante ou mate Munken Kristall Smooth: surface fine, blanc brillant Munken Polar Smooth: surface fine, extra blanc Découvrez les différents types de papier et de tissu et commandez un kit de modèles gratuit: Commandez un kit de modèles.


Quel procédé d’impression est utilisé chez Bookfactory?

Votre album photos est imprimé selon un procédé d’impression numérique, ce qui permet de proposer des prix avantageux même pour un seul exemplaire. La technologie d’impression numérique électrophotographique utilisant des encres liquides permet en outre des résultats d’impression nettement meilleurs. A la différence des procédés à toner traditionnels, nous obtenons alors une gamme de contraste et une densité de couleurs supérieures et augmentons ainsi durablement la brillance chromatique de vos photos. Cette technique présente pour autre avantage la stabilité accrue des couleurs secondaires et tertiaires, qui ne sont pas appliquées comme teinte homogène.


Sécurité
Sécurité du téléchargement

Le téléchargement du Bookfactory logiciel est aussi sûr qu’il l’est techniquement possible. Lors de l’installation, vous ne devriez rencontrer aucune mésaventure. Aucun programme caché n’est installé en même temps que Bookfactory logiciel. Vous pouvez bien entendu désinstaller (supprimer) à tout moment le logiciel de votre système.


Sauvegarde des données

Aucun système informatique au monde n’est à l’abri d’un bogue ou d’un défaut matériel. C’est pourquoi il vous faut impérativement faire une copie de sauvegarde de vos données à intervalles réguliers. Et, bien sûr, pas seulement de vos projets d’albums photos mais aussi de toutes les données importantes se trouvant sur votre disque dur!


Envoi
Prix et frais d’envoi en vigueur

Les prix en vigueur se trouvent dans la catégorie de produits correspondante pour une meilleure vue d’ensemble. Formats & prix Remarque: maintenez votre Bookfactory logiciel à jour grâce à la fonction «Update» gratuite – le logiciel affichera alors directement les conditions en vigueur.


Envoi spécial et listes des adresses de distribution

Nos offres et nos frais de livraison concernent les commandes comprenant une seule adresse de livraison. Veuillez noter que les listes de livraison personnelles/commandes fractionnées qui ne sont pas réalisées par le client dans le cadre du processus de commande automatisé (à partir de la deuxième adresse) sont traitées par nous contre le paiement des tarifs indiqués ci-dessous. Livraison fractionnée (livraison de produits à différentes adresses de destinataires): Pour chaque adresse de livraison supplémentaire (livraison via une liste sur document Word/Excel), les frais de livraison de la catégorie de produits concernée (par exemple le Booklet à CHF 4.90 ou l’album photo à CHF 6.90) vous seront facturés. En outre, pour chaque envoi spécial (20 adresses maximum), un forfait de traitement de CHF 50.– est dû. Si le nombre d’adresses individuelles à traiter est supérieur à 20, le forfait d’envoi est facturé dans le cadre d’une offre distincte. Exemple: Commande de dix Booklets à livrer à six adresses différentes. Envoi et frais de port: 6 x CHF 4.90 = CHF 29.40 Forfait de traitement = CHF 50.– Coût total de l’envoi spécial = CHF 79.40 hors TVA (ce montant est facturé au client en plus du coût des produits) Facturation fractionnée (factures envoyées à différentes adresses de destinataires): Si le client souhaite en outre que des factures soient envoyées à différents destinataires (facturation fractionnée), il doit se renseigner auprès de notre service clientèle avant le processus de commande, à l’adresse service@bookfactory.ch. Pour chaque adresse de facturation distincte, un supplément de CHF 10.– est facturé. Pour toute autre question, veuillez vous renseigner auprès de notre service clientèle, à l’adresse service@bookfactory.ch.


Dans quels pays les produits Bookfactory peuvent-ils être livrés?

Les commandes peuvent être livrées en Suisse, au Liechtenstein.